Wine with protected geographical indication

A picture shows the logo of PGI

(German g.g.A.: English PGI=Protected Geografical Indication; French IGP = Indication Géographique Protégée; Italian IGP = Indicazione Geografica Protetta)

A picture shows the regions of Landwein Production


"The term “Landwein” is a traditional usage, and replaces the Community law designation “Wine with geographical indication”, for wine with an indication of origin.

Wine may be offered on the market under the designation “Landwein” when:

  1. it is produced exclusively from grapes, which were harvested in a single wineproducing region
  2. it is produced exclusively from grape varieties permitted for the production of Qualitätswein
  3. the juice of the wine grapes displays a minimum must weight of 14 °KMW, and the extant alcohol content meets a minimum of 8.5%
  4. it exhibits characteristics typical to the designation
  5. the total acid content, figured as tartaric acid, meets a minimum of 4 g/l
  6. the maximum yield per hectare (7,500 l/ha or 10,000 kg grapes/ha) is not exceeded and
  7. it is free of defects in appearance, smell and flavour.

The areas of origin for grapes used in production of “Landwein” are the winegrowing areas Weinland, Steirerland or Bergland*. 100% of the grapes used in its production must come exclusively from one of these wineproducing regions.

The use of the name of a more detailed geographical entity than the wineproducing region, as well as any other product name than Landwein (in particular “Wine with Protected Geographical Indication”) is not permitted."

* Until the 17th century, there were significant wine-growing regions also in Austria's western federal states. But climatic changes, economical crises and the major success of breweries let wine-growing in the cooler parts of the country dry up almost completely by the 19th century. Today, small pockets of wine-growing do still exist, and there even is a small renaissance underway in the Bergland wine-growing region. The current vineyard areas are in Kärnten (100 ha), Oberösterreich (20 ha), Vorarlberg (20 ha), Tirol (9 ha) and Salzburg (3 ha).