Due to more favourable climatic conditions most wine-growing regions are located in the eastern part of the country. You will however find winegrowing to a smaller extent all over the rest of Austria as well.

Austria‘s winegrowing area comprises 44.728 ha. The federal states of Niederösterreich (27,074 ha), Burgenland (11,772 ha) and Steiermark (5,086 ha) are defined as generic winegrowing regions, there are also 17 specific winegrowing regions, including Wien (575 ha) and the area Bergland with five winegrowing regions (Kärnten, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Tirol, Vorarlberg).


Niederösterreich (Lower Austria) is Austria’s largest winegrowing region for Qualitätswein. Under its name are gathered an abundant variety of wine cultures, ranging from vinous stylings of local varietal rarities to distinctive interpretations of international types. The eight specific winegrowing regions located in Niederösterreich – with sonorous names such as Wachau in the west and Carnuntum to the east – can be roughly divided into three climate zones: the Weinviertel in the north, the Danube River Region with its side valleys (Traisen, Kamp and Krems) west of Vienna, and Pannonian Niederösterreich to the southeast.

Read more


Influenced by the hot continental Pannonian climate, the easternmost of Austrian federal states – Burgenland – produces the most opulent and authoritative red wines in Austria, along with complex whites and extraordinarily fine nobly sweet wines. Here, though, there are regional differences – not to be underestimated – that come into play with regard to the natural conditions.

Read More


The world abounds with viticultural regions that produce weightier – above all more alcohol-laden – wines than Steiermark. But nowhere, are there any fresher, more brilliant – and thus in a very elegant manner regionally typical – bottlings to be found on the planet than in the south of Steiermark.

Read More


Viticulture in the big city? Often these are showcase vineyards, nothing more than a tourist attraction. But Vienna is different. Here the city’s 580 hectares of vineyards embody an important economic factor, aid in preservation of the belt of green that girdles the city, and provide the basis for first-rate wines. Vienna’s vinous specialty – the “Wiener Gemischter Satz” – was received into the Austrian DAC family in 2013, and since then has solidified its position as the symbol of Viennese wine.

Read More

Winegrowing Area Bergland

Wine production in Austria is not only found in the wine-growing areas of "WEINLAND" (to include Niederösterreich, Burgenland and Wien/Vienna) and  "STEIRERLAND" (Steiermark), but also in every other federal state. These are included in the wine-growing area of "BERGLAND".

Read More


Be the first one to know the latest news in the world of Austrian Wine!

Erfahren Sie Neuigkeiten vor allen anderen und sicher Sie sich die aktuellsten Themen aus der Welt des österreichischen Weins. • Hintergrundinformationen • Eventeinladungen • Gesetzesänderungen Noch nicht überzeugt? Sehen Sie sich hier unseren aktuellen Newsletter an.