4 Specified Regions with Focal Varieties

Specified winegrowing regions that do not yet carry DAC status (for example, Wagram or Carnuntum) can theoretically Qualitätswein wine from 40 varieties. Here as well, a few focal grape varieties serve as flagships for regional marketing.

Specific wine-growing regions with focal varieties

Wachau: Grüner Veltliner, Riesling

Wagram: Grüner Veltliner (and possibly Roter Veltliner)

Carnuntum: Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch

Thermenregion: Zierfandler, Rotgipfler, St. Laurent, Pinot Noir

Vulkanland Steiermark: Weißburgunder (Pinot blanc), Morillon, Sauvignon, Traminer

Südsteiermark: Sauvignon, Muskateller, Weißburgunder, Morillon

Weststeiermark: Blauer Wildbacher