[Translate to English:]

14 Specified DAC Winegrowing Regions

When it has been concluded that a region has an established clear focus and that just one or a few grape varieties should represent that region, the Regional Wine Committee can apply - through the National Wine Committee, which is responsible for Austrian vinicultural policy - for DAC status with one or a few origin-typical DAC wines. When this application is accepted and given legal status by the Minister of Agriculture, the region is then permitted to designate its origin-typical wines with the name of the particular region together with the addition of the initials DAC (Districtus Austriae Controllatus). All other Qualitätswein from the same region are, in this case, designated with the name of the federal state in which the DAC region is located.

A map shows the Austrian DAC winegrowing regions

Weinviertel DAC: Grüner Veltliner

Mittelburgenland DAC: Blaufränkisch

Traisental DAC: Grüner Veltliner, Riesling

Kremstal DAC: Grüner Veltliner, Riesling

Kamptal DAC: Grüner Veltliner, Riesling

Leithaberg DAC:

  • White wine: PB/WB, CH, GV, NB (monovarietal or a blend of this varietals)
  • Red wine: Blaufränkisch

Eisenberg DAC: Blaufränkisch

Neusiedlersee DAC: Zweigelt (monovarietal or Zweigelt-based cuvée)

Wiener Gemischter Satz DAC: Gemischter Satz

Rosalia DAC:Blaufränkisch, Zweigelt
Rosalia DAC Rosé: one or more red Qualitätswein varieties

Vulkanland Steiermark DAC: Weißburgunder, Morillon, Sauvignon, Traminer

Südsteiermark DAC: Sauvignon Blanc, Muskateller, Weißburgunder, Morillon

Weststeiermark DAC: Blauer Wildbacher

Carnuntum DAC: